Skip to content

HD Movies via a Real Camera

January 31, 2010

I was once really into taking pictures.  It was an artistic outlet that went away, as I narrowed down outlets in life.  I still have my SLR 35 MM cameras from yesteryear. I have not checked lately but does anyone still sell 35 mm film? Seriously?

So, when it dawned on me that I had purchased my last 3 digital cameras saying someday I am going to man up and get a real one, it was time to do so.  I took a quick inventory of my old hardware and saw it was a bunch of old Canon and Pentex stuff from the late 80’s.

Clearly, it was time to start over and embrace this thing called the 21 st century.  Ya ya, you are laughing at me, but be honest, how much old crap do you still have in the  basement of your life, that you havent used in a decade or two?

Accepting, that it is time to buy my first actual DSLR, I started shopping online, like a virgin at the local wedding dress factory.  Its true, I have not bought a real camera in decades.  I am way over due.  I am feeling empowered here when it hits me.  I honestly dont know diddly about digital cameras of today.

Ugh, what to do… seek directions? I am obviously not well known for this trait historically speaking. So, I do some deep thinking, and remember that one of my mentors, happens to be a semi famous photographer if your into weird bugs.

End result, he talks me out of my first idea of a camera and suggests instead the Nikon D5000 with its built in HD movie mode.  Which sounds absolutely perfect for the little movies I want to record of my Daughters Killing fish… unlike their Dad has lately, ok lets be honest, since I was basically their age.  I have no idea what kind of curse I caused, but its been decades now since I was able to catch fish like the neighbors do.

Stay tuned for future HD movies of girl fisherwoman, I hope.

DAD

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Steve Sperry permalink
    February 2, 2010 7:16 am

    Very nice selection! HD baby!

  2. February 2, 2010 8:13 am

    ya now I have to wait for it to arrive via snail mail. I love technology, and I also curse the speed that some of it still moves at. lol.

    I look forward to learning how to use this camera with its primary lenses, before I get distracted with everything possible with a zoom. At this point, once I am comfortable with the basic lenses, I will prob get the 300 mm lenses for it.

    I am looking forward to learning how to use a camera again. I used to be one actually. Including darkroom time. lots of it actually, once. So, after 20 years… its time to embrace the new tech… and see what is possible.

  3. Steve Sperry permalink
    February 4, 2010 6:34 pm

    What Lens does it come with?

  4. February 5, 2010 6:16 am

    I only purchased the basic 18×55 AF-S with Anti Vibration. It has the anti shaking feature, which seems to be the expectations of the real cameras of today. I will pick up a zoom of 55-200 in the near future. I figured I would spend a few weeks with its basic lenses… learning the camera on its own… before I start upgrading things in typical Jack fashion.

    I am learning patience, as I get older. I might be approaching normal, once I hit 70-80…

    • Steve Sperry permalink
      February 6, 2010 3:45 am

      Yes I understand that the new lenses have a few gyro’s to stabilize them. I stopped by Target and grabbed the D5000 to see what the new 4 digit series camera’s are all about. I was able to experience the stabilized image, you can shake the camera and the image stays locked in and stationary… very impressive. I also noticed that the advanced menus are actually a tutorial on what settings to change as you use the manual features… looks like the camera will teach you as you use the settings, kinda cool. I like the new camera! I have to be careful as I may find the urge to pick up a body and lens if I am not careful.

      Check out these comments on the nikkor 16-85 f/3.5-5.6G ED VR and some sample pictures from it… http://digital-photography-school.com/forum/nikon-digital-cameras/101331-one.html

      Scroll down and there are some sample photos along with some comments.

  5. Steve Sperry permalink
    February 6, 2010 4:58 am

    I would like to comment on your thoughts about becoming “Patient” and my observations about the process and the fundamentals regarding the genetic foundation of our family and heritage… remind me to do a blog on the subject of how the Barnes’s are “Hunters” as opposed to “Farmers”. Possibly a link to a camping and fishing predisposition.

    Your Brother
    Steve

  6. Laurie permalink
    February 13, 2010 12:48 am

    Do you boys have any idea of how geeky you sound?

    hugs,

    Laurie

  7. February 13, 2010 12:53 am

    I just recorded my first HD movie. It appears, I have to seek out some faster memory. The Series 4 HS SD disks, do not record smooth enough for high resolution recording. I now have 1x 8 gig series 2 disk, and 2×8 gig series 4 SD disks that are ok for taking slow photos with. They dont move data quick enough to be useful in HD mode.

Leave a Reply

